How to Set Up Find My Friends

Find My Friends comes pre-installed with iOS 9 and up. Use the Spotlight search tool to find it. For earlier versions of iOS, or if it’s not pre-installed, download the app from the App Store. Find My Friends uses iCloud and your Apple ID, so when you sign in to iCloud, you sign in to Find My Friends.

How to Add Friends in Find my Friends

Adding people to the Find My Friends app is quick and easy; it only takes a few steps. To add friends to the app:

How to Use Find My Friends on iPhone and iPad

Opening the app shows the location of all of your friends, but there’s more you can do.

Notify Friends When You Leave or Arrive

To notify your friends when you leave or arrive at a location, follow these steps:

Delete a Leave or Arrive Notification

To delete a notification, tap Me, then tap Notify Friends. Swipe right to left across the notification, then tap Remove. Tap Add Notification to create a replacement or tap Done to finish.

Hide Your Location

To hide your location for a short period of time without deleting a notification entirely, tap Me and turn off the Share My Location toggle switch. You’ll disappear from your friends’ map, but reappear when you start sharing your location again.

Stop Sharing Your Location

To keep seeing your friends’ locations, but to stop sharing yours permanently, follow these steps:

Another Way to Use Find My Friends: iCloud

The Find My Friends app uses iCloud to show your location and connect with your friends. Use iCloud to find friends without using the app. Log in to iCloud using a web browser to find your friends and use the features found on the iOS app, even if your iPhone or iPad isn’t nearby.

The Pros and Cons of Using Find My Friends

Depending on your perspective, Find My Friends may sound terrific or terrifying. There’s truth to both opinions. Consider the pros and cons before you use the app.